READING PSALMICALLY

Credit goes to Justin Buzzard for this great idea:

PSalms

I’ve been changing things up.

Weeks ago I began to notice that my conversations with God had a “stuckness” to them. My prayer life had grown stale and stuck–always saying the same old things in the same old way. So, I decided to change my method.

For the past few weeks I’ve been praying through the Psalms.

This is how I do it:

Most mornings I use my Moleskine in praying through a psalm. Right now, the discipline of writing out my prayers is proving deeply helpful. I began with Psalm 1. Today I prayed through Psalm 20. I use black ink to write out the words of the psalm. As I write the words I pray them to God. When a certain stanza, verse, sentence, or word of the psalm especially grips me and triggers further prayer, I take my red pen and use it to write out/pour out further prayer to God in my own language. When I’m done, I move back to the black pen/psalm.

That’s it. That’s what I do.

It’s just a simple change of method in my prayer life, but this simple change of method is slowly changing how I live and relate to God. I’m living more psalmically than before.

 

Leave a Reply

